Force Rhymes E.P.

March 30, 2006 at 8:15 am (Critiques)

My first review for my blog will be, aptly enough, a review of my own work. It's a (very) lo-fi production consisting of 7 tracks and clocking in at just over 23 minutes long. It is entirely acoustic and was recorded from January 13, 2006 to March 24, 2006 in my "bedroom studio" on my 8-track machine. So let's start the show:

  1. Dear Aldous – This song has many allusions to Aldous Huxley's Brave New World. It has heavy folk influences and, while being rather simplistic in structure, is still fun to listen to.
  2. Bye, Bye, BlacksheepBye, Bye, Blacksheep is a song that deals with leaving home, coming to grips with the way things are, and ultimately learning to accept yourself. The final lines echo regret, but that's only because regret is an integral part of life. It's two seconds shy of seven minutes long, but I feel that it goes by alot quicker than you would expect. While the lyrical content is lacking at parts, it may still hold your interest long enough for you to hear it out.
  3. A Song That I Wrote (There's Blood On The Paper, I Apologize) – Aside from a rediculously long title, I feel that this is one of the most "mature" songs on the album. It's one of two that include multi-track recording (its counterpart is the aforementioned Bye, Bye, Blacksheep) and it's structure required a little more thought than most of the tracks on the album. Overall it's fun to listen to (how can it not be when it has a silly slide guitar throughout).
  4. Forced Rhymes – The title track of the E.P. and one of the only "happy" songs I've written, Forced Rhymes is about longing for a loved one. The main riff is slightly more bluesy than I'm used to. Enjoy it.
  5. Chalkboards & Lessons – This song has some heavy Iron & Wine influence. It was one of the later songs I wrote for the demo and I feel that it shows. It's a mid-tempo piece but the strumming pattern gives it an up-tempo feel. You'll have to hear it to understand. The lyrical content is simple, and though it may not be poignant for you, it's everything to me.
  6. Present Tense – A slow lullaby that speaks of heartache. Surprise, surprise, right? I wish I could have added some e-bow to the tune, but I ran out of time. I'll re-record it in good time.
  7. I No Knot – The final track of the demo is a quirky piece I wrote, literally, at the last second. The riff is mostly improvised as are all the lyrics. It's a look into myself.

Overall I feel that this is a heartfelt piece of work. Whether you enjoy it or not is up to you. Contact me if you'd like a copy.

Leave a comment